Punjab govt approves over Rs 3,330 crore for developing 16 cities under AMRUT

Punjab Government today accorded approval of the State Annual Action Plan (SAAP) amounting to Rs 3,339 crore in next 5 years for the development of infrastructure for 16 cities selected under Atal Mission for Rejuvenation and Urban Transformation (AMRUT).

A high level committee approved the plan and the same shall now be forwarded to the Centre for placing before the Apex Committee for approval and release of funds, an official spokesman said here.

The Centre had issued guidelines of AMRUT with the aimof providing basic services- water supply, sewerage, urban transport – to households and build amenities in cities to improve the quality of life for all, especially the poor, he said.

He said that Punjab Municipal Infrastructure Development Company (PMIDC), the State Level Nodal Agency (SLNA) of Punjab engaged M/s WAPCOS Ltd (a Government of India Enterprises) as Consultant for preparing the Service Level Improvement Plans (SLIPS) for approved 16 Cities of Punjab.

The approved cities are Abohar, Amritsar, Barnala, Batala, Bathinda, Ferozepur, Hoshiarpur, Jalandhar, Khanna, Ludhiana, Malerkotla, Moga, Mukatsar, Patiala, Pathankot and SAS Nagar having population more than 1 lakh.